Medal of Honor recipients inducted into the Commando Hall of Honor
Special Operators who have been awarded the Medal of Honor get inducted into the USSOCOM Commando Hall of Honor.

By: Michael Bottoms - USSOCOM Office of Communication - 2/20/2019

  • Medal of Honor recipient retired Army Sgt. 1st Class Melvin Morris enters USSOCOM headquarters Jan. 29, 2019 on MacDill Air Force Base, Fla. (Photo by Michael Bottoms)
  • Retired Army Command Sgt. Maj. Bennie Adkins, a Vietnam War Medal of Honor recipient, autographs a book featuring his image during a U.S. Special Operations Command Commando Hall of Honor induction ceremony in Tampa, Fla., Jan. 29, 2019. (Photo by U.S. Air Force Master Sgt. Barry Loo)
  • David Donovan, grandson of Medal of Honor recipient William “Wild Bill” J. Donovan and his wife Teresa pose next to a photo of his grandfather Jan. 29, 2019 at USSOCOM headquarters on MacDill Air Force Base, Fla. Twenty Medal of Honor recipients including Donovan were inducted into USSOCOM’s Commando Hall of Honor. (Photo by U.S. Marine Corps Jacob Johnson)

Twenty special operators who have been awarded the Medal of Honor were inducted into U.S. Special Operations Command’s Commando Hall of Honor Jan. 29, 2019 in Tampa, Florida. The multi-generational Medal of Honor recipients spanned from World War I with the induction of Army Maj. Gen. William “Wild Bill” Donovan to today’s war on terrorism with the induction of Army Staff Sgt. Ronald Shurer II.

The group of national heroes were given a tour of USSOCOM’s Medal of Honor Hall, given a global mission briefing by Army Gen. Raymond A. Thomas III, commander of USSOCOM, followed by a formal mess night where they were officially inducted into the hall.

“It is just a great honor to be in the company of such extraordinary people like you,” Thomas said. “Our command really cherishes your contributions to special operations.”

The guest speaker during the Commando Hall of Honor induction ceremony was Navy Adm. Eric Olson, the eighth USSOCOM commander and Silver Star Medal recipient for his actions in 1993 at the Battle of Mogadishu.

“Only those who have earned the Medal of Honor know how deep one has to reach to find the strength to perform such acts of extreme valor,” Olson said. “Those who wear the medal live under a very public spotlight, know what it takes to be the highest role model for the rest of their lives. None of them sought to be in the public eye. They always look good, Stand tall. Speak well. They go the extra mile and if you look at them tonight you see what I mean.”

The medal represents the very best of a warrior culture. The extraordinary acts and courage are performed for the right reasons,” continued Olson. “It’s worth noting that Medals of Honor awarded in our lifetime were for saving lives and not taking them at levels of heroism that they and we honor most.”

The grandson Maj. Gen. William Donovan, David Donovan and his wife Teresa, attended the induction representing his grandfather who commanded the Office of Strategic Services during World War II. The OSS is the precursor for the Central Intelligence Agency and ultimately USSOCOM.

“What an incredible experience Teresa and I had assisting with the induction of my grandfather and other Medal of Honor winners into the Hall of Fame,” Donovan said.  “We are still trying to absorb being at the nerve center of the world's only hyper-power along with the Medal of Honor recipients from the past and present.”


The following special operations Medal of Honor recipients were inducted into USSOCOM’s Commando Hall of Honor.

Command Sgt. Maj. Bennie Adkins, U.S. Army

Sgt. 1st Class Eugene Ashley, U.S. Army

Sgt. Gary Beikirch, U.S. Army

Master Sgt. Roy Benavidez, U.S. Army

Master Chief Petty Officer (SEAL) Edward Byers, U.S. Navy

Master Sgt. John Chapman, U.S. Air Force

Maj. Gen. William Donovan, U.S. Army

Maj. Gen. Merritt Edson, U.S. Marine Corps

Master Sgt. Gary Gordon, U.S. Army

Col. Robert Howard, U.S. Army

Col. William Jones, U.S. Air Force

Sgt. John Levitow, U.S. Air Force

Command Sgt. Maj. Gary Littrell, U.S. Army

Staff Sgt. Robert Miller, U.S. Army

Sgt. 1st Class Melvin Morris, U.S. Army

Capt. Gary Rose, U.S. Army

Sgt. 1st Class Randall Shughart, U.S. Army

Staff Sgt. Ronald Shurer  II, U.S. Army

Petty Officer 1st Class James Williams, U.S. Navy

Sgt. Gordon Yntema, U.S. Army

Related Articles