​State of Mississippi

Mississippi is bordered on the north by the state of Tennessee, on the east by Alabama, on the south by Louisiana and the Gulf of Mexico, and on the west by Louisiana and Arkansas. The state is named for the Mississippi river which forms its western boundary and empties into the Gulf of Mexico. The name roughly translated from Native American folklore means "Father of the Waters." Mississippi was organized as a territory in 1798 and was admitted as the 20th state to join the Union in 1817. Jackson is the capital city and the largest metropolitan area.

Mississippi has a hot and humid subtropical climate with long summers and short, mild winters. Temperatures average about 82°F (about 28°C) in the summer and about 48°F (about 9°C) in the winter. The temperature varies little across the state in the summer, but in the winter the region near the Mississippi Gulf Coast is significantly warmer than most of the rest of the state.

The culture of Mississippi is derived from a mixture of Native Americans, African, English, Spanish, French and Irish immigrants. This robust mixture of cultures has a spicy impact on its cuisine, music and warmth. From plantation homes to beaches, rivers to big cities, the "Hospitality State" is blessed with warm sunny weather, beautiful scenery and friendly people, making it one of the most innovative states in the country. Actors, artists, astronauts, authors, cooks, musicians, sports figures and more, Mississippi has contributed significantly to America's culture.